The Australian Ceramic Award 2014

This prestigious Award, inaugurated in 1982, is presented biennially, on the occasion of AUSTCERAM Conferences, to a person (not necessarily a member of our Society) who has contributed in an outstanding way to the profession and practice of ceramics in Australia.

In the past it has been awarded to the following:

  • 1982 Associate Professor E. R. McCartney
  • 1984 Mr E. J. Tauber
  • 1986 Mrs. J. Mansfield
  • 1988 Dr M. V. Swain
  • 1990 Mr D. A. Taylor
  • 1992 Associate Professor R. McPherson
  • 1994 Mr. H. A. Kanost,
  • 1996 Dr. K. D. Reeve, A.O.
  • 1998 Mr. P. Faulkner,
  • 2000 Associate Professor B. Ben-Nissan
  • 2002 Dr. R H J Hannink
  • 2004 Dr. E.R. Vance
  • 2007 Mr. R. Stead
  • 2009 Dr. D. Perera
  • 2011 Professor Yi-Bing Cheng


Nominations with full documentation supporting the nominee, may be made by any member or Branch Committee of the Australian Ceramic Society. Nominations should be submitted to the Federal Secretary by 7th November 2014.

The judging panel will consist of all members of Federal Council, unless the nominee is on the council, in which case they shall be excluded. Judging will be solely on the basis of documentation submitted, so this should cover all relevant supporting materials, including a full CV, publications list, an argued case by the submitting branch or member and 3 x 100 word maximum references (together with the names, position, organisation/company, email and phone contact details of the 3 referees).

Judging Criteria

  1. Has the major contribution to the ceramic industry/academia in Australia been clearly identified?
  2. How major was the achievement:
    1. Known by what proportion of all professional ceramists in Australia?
    2. Known overseas through products, personal knowledge, publications, etc?
    3. Has it been pace – or trend-setting in Australia?
    4. How much has it contributed to the growth of employment opportunities in Australia?
    5. Has it helped to establish a new industry, pointed in a new direction, solved a pressing technical problem or problems, increased productivity, introduced new materials or new technology in the industrial scene?
    6. How much has it contributed to the ‘quality’ of ceramic development and enterprise?
    7. Has the achievement received awards for teaching or research
    8. Overall excellence involved in the achievement.

Australian Ceramic Society Honorary Fellow

Call for 2014 Nominations of the Australian Ceramic Society Honorary Fellow

The title of Honorary Fellow is the highest award that can be bestowed upon a member of the Australian Ceramic Society. It is awarded to members in recognition for their outstanding contributions to their field during their professional careers. It is open to members of industry, related to ceramics and the Ceramic Society, academia, potters and government representatives and is decided upon by their peers.

To be elected as an Honorary Fellow of the Australian Ceramic Society any person who has been a member of the Society for 5 years may apply with a comprehensive curriculum vitae and names of two referees.

To be elected as an Honorary Fellow a person would be expected to have suitable qualifications in ceramics, materials science or engineering or equivalent and have at least 10 years of professional experience after graduation. Fellows would normally be expected to have published a number of well regarded articles in appropriate professional journals or occupied a senior leadership position in industry or Government service or be a highly recognised potter. The selection will be made by the Federal Council and/or a committee appointed by the Council a maximum of twice a year.

Nominations are now open and will close on 7th November 2014.

Submit Applications for Both Awards to:

Brian Lynch
Federal Secretary
Australian Ceramic Society