Call for 2018 nominations for the Australian Ceramic Award

The ACS Award is the highest award bestowed by the Australian Ceramic Society. This prestigious Award, inaugurated in 1982, is presented biennially, on the occasion of AUSTCERAM Conferences, to a person (not necessarily a member of our Society) who has contributed in an outstanding way to the profession and practice of ceramics in Australia.

In the past it has been awarded to the following:

1982 Associate Professor E. R. McCartney

1984 Mr E. J. Tauber

1986 Mrs. J. Mansfield

1988 Dr M. V. Swain

1990 Mr D. A. Taylor

1992 Associate Professor R. McPherson

1994 Mr. H. A. Kanost

1996 Dr. K. D. Reeve, A.O.

1998 Mr. P. Faulkner

2000 Associate Professor B. Ben-Nissan

2002 Dr. R H J Hannink

2004 Dr. E.R. Vance

2007 Mr. R. Stead

2009 Dr. D. Perera

2011 Professor Yi-Bing Cheng

2014 Mr R Bowman

2016 Ms C. Inglis

Nominations with full documentation supporting the nominee, may be made by any member or Branch Committee of the Australian Ceramic Society. Nominations should be submitted to the Federal President by 26th October 2018.

The judging panel will consist of all members of Federal Council, unless the nominee is on the council, in which case they shall be excluded. Judging will be solely on the basis of documentation submitted, so this should cover all relevant supporting materials, including a full CV, publications list, an argued case by the submitting branch or member and up to a further three 100-word maximum references (together with the names, position, organisation/company, email and phone contact details of the three referees).